Meera Maharaj in Concert with Dominic Degavino
July 17, 2020 (No Comments) by Ganved14

Meera Maharaj offers Live-Streamed Concert.

Meera Maharaj

Flute Journal readers will remember Meera Maharaj from the reviews of the Meraki Duo in Liverpool and London performances by myself and Maddy Shaw. The promised interview with Meera and her guitarist partner James Girling are scheduled for this summer.

In the meantime, however, Ms. Maharaj has other outlets for her performances. As can be seen from her website, since 2017 she has also been playing in partnership with pianist Dominic Degavino.

The Maharaj/Degavino duo has offered  a live-streamed concert on Friday 24th July, at the London 1901 Arts Club.

The concert can be viewed below. (Meera and Dominic introduce the music at minute 10:30. The music starts at minute 16:00):

Meera Maharaj and Dominic Degavino.

The Programme is as follows:

Robert Schumann (1810-1854)
Three Romances, Op. 94

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Flute Sonata in D, Op. 94

Deep River – anon. (arr. Harry Burleigh (1866-1949))

Malaika – anon. (arr. Maharaj/Degavino)

London Is the Place for Me – Lord Kitchener (arr. Maharaj/Degavino)

Comments are closed.

Editor in Chief